Competitions Group

Competition Group Coordinator

A. AHS Competition - to plan and conduct the national AHS Competition, which takes place every two years, in conjunction with the Summer Institute. There are five divisions: Junior, Intermediate I, Intermediate II, Advanced, and Young Professional, all with monetary awards. Rules and regulations, selection of repertoire and naming of judges are all responsibilities of the committee.

B. AHS Foundation Awards - separate named awards presented following the wishes of the donor when adequate interest has accrued.  (See also Educational Funds, under the Education Group below, or for more information about the Foundation, visit the AHS Foundation page.

Scholarships For Advanced Study

  • Anne Adams Award
  • Maxwell-Calkins Award
  • Nebergall Award

Awards, Scholarships and Prizes

  • Wickersham Award
  • Mildred Biehn Johnson Award
  • Karl Carlson Award
  • Kathrin Fouse Award 
  • Kids for Camp Award
  • Inez Stafford Award
  • Weiger Lepke-Sims Family Composition Award for Church Music

Performance Awards

  • Grandjany Prize
  • Prix Renié
  • Malone Prize

C. Concert Artists/Young Professional Outreach - to guide and support the Young Professional Division Competition winner in the presentation of chapter recitals and other conference and institute performances during the two years following his/her award.