Performance/Competition Prizes

Various competition and awards opportunities are available every year.  Age requirements and eligibility varies.

AHS National Competition: Held every odd year (2015, 2017, etc.) in conjunction with the Summer Institute, a total of $20,000 in prize money is given. There are six winners in each of the five divisions:

  • Junior (12 & under)
  • Intermediate I (15 & under)
  • Intermediate II (18 & under)
  • Advanced (21 & under)
  • *Young Professional Divisions (30 & under).

* The 1st Prize Winner of the Young Professional Division serves as the AHS Concert Artist until the next competition.

AHS Foundation Awards (Anne Adams Awards): up to three awards of $2000 each for full time study of the harp are given every even year (2010, 2012, etc.) in conjunction with the AHS National Conference.

Lyon & Healy sponsors the Lyon & Healy Awards preceding the AHS National Competition, held every odd year.  Each of the three winners receives 2,000 in cash to be used to further their education, along with a $500 gift certificate from Lyon & Healy Harps.

Performance Awards.  AHS Foundation prizes are awarded for the best performance of a work or transcription by the named composers, often in conjunction with the AHS National Competition.