The 2019 Weiger Lepke-Sims Family Sacred Music Award

Established in 2000 by Barbara Lepke-Sims and Michael Sims, this Award was created to honor Barbara's family members who have loved and encouraged her musical pursuits and in memory of her grandmother, Mabel Fulton Weiger, her father, Ralph J. Weiger, and mother, Eleanor Marshall-White. Barbara's grandmother, Mabel Fulton Weiger was an organist at Moody Bible Institute in the 1940's.

To expand harp repertoire (pedal or lever) in a traditional church or synagogue setting.

$600 Award
Performance of the work
Recording of the work at the W L-S premiere performance
Possible limited-run publication of the work

Objective and Application Criteria:

Emphasis on a beautiful melody and tonal harmonic structure must be key elements in the final composition.

The composition should be between two and thirty minutes in length. Multiple movements are acceptable.

The winning work will be suitable for an intermediate level harpist. It will be technically and musically accessible to a wide variety of sacred performance settings.

Composers must be a minimum of 18 years old as of December 31, 2018. Winner will be asked to provide proof of age before the award is presented.

The 2019 award is for pedal or lever (non-pedal) harp and organ, with the option of including a solo vocal or choral component. The harp must be an essential part of a winning composition. No solo harp compositions will be considered. Each year the instrumentation may change.

Previous monetary award winners are not eligible to submit new compositions for a period of one year.

Submission Requirements:

  1. A score and mp3 recording of the work. This work should be a new work created within the last two years and never previously published. Any identification of the composer must be removed from every page of the composition and from all parts of the mp3 file.

  2. Source of the text of the work (if there is text)

  3. A brief resume showing the composer's background and important works. Those works that have been premiered should be noted including information about the performance (time, place, ensemble, etc.).

  4. Contact information for the composer including e-mail, telephone and postal address.

  5. A brief biography paragraph suitable for publication in a program. This should be no more than 175 words.

Complete the entry form and submit entries here:

Deadline for submission of all materials is March 15, 2019.

Award Procedure:

  • All entrants will be notified of the results no later than April 30, 2019.

  • Announcement of the award will be made on the AHS Foundation website and will include the composers name, a brief biography, and information about the winning composition.

  • Copyright for this work remains with the composer, except for a negotiated number of copies to be sold at the W L-S Award premiere of the work. No more than 100 scores will be sold in this context, and the award committee may choose to print and sell a lesser number.

  • In negotiation with specific harp publishers or sacred music publishers the W-L-S award committee may offer the composer a chance to have the work published more widely. These negotiations will be handled through separate documents.

  • Published winning composition will state:

    Recipient of the Weiger Lepke-Sims Family Sacred Music Award, dedicated to the memory of Mabel Fulton Weiger, Ralph J. Weiger, and Eleanor Marshall-White, through the support of The American Harp Society Foundation.