The winner of the American Harp Society competition Young Professional division also serves as the AHS Concert Artist, receiving the opportunity and financial support to perform chapter recitals for a two year term.  $3000.00 is available per year, along with funds from the Escosa Memorial Fund.

Local chapters are encouraged to invite the Concert Artist to perform, and the AHS will pay transportation costs for the Concert Artist from budgeted funds.  To request a Concert Artist performance, Chapters should contact the Chairman of the Concert Artist committee.   The current Chairman of the Concert Artist Program is Karen Lindquist, who can be reached at

The Chairman will contact the Concert Artist, who will then set a date with the local chapter.  The expenses of the concert must be approved in advance by the Chairman and the AHS Bookkeeper before the concert date is finalized, and all publicity involving the concert must acknowledge the American Harp Society.

The Concert Artist for 2015-2017 is Katherine Siochi

Praised by the New York Times as “excellent,” 21-year old Katherine Siochi is an award-winning classical harpist residing in New York City. Ms. Siochi began her musical studies with the piano when she was 5 years old, and began learning the harp at age 9. She holds a Bachelor of Music in harp performance from The Juilliard School, where she studied with NY Philharmonic principal harpist Nancy Allen. In the fall of 2015, Katherine will continue her harp studies with Ms. Allen in the Master’s program at Juilliard as a proud recipient of The Kovner Fellowship.

Ms. Siochi has received several awards as a soloist in national harp competitions, the most recent being first prize in the American Harp Society's Young Professional division, earning her the title of AHS Concert Artist for 2015-2017. She was also awarded the Salzedo Prize for the best performance of "Scintillation" at that AHS Competition.  Her other honors include first prize in the junior division of the American String Teacher’s Association, winner of the Anne Adams Awards, winner of the Aspen Music Festival harp competition, and first prize in the Advanced Division of the American Harp Society. She has appeared twice on NPR’s radio program “From The Top” in 2009 and 2010. 

Active as an orchestral and chamber musician, Ms. Siochi has performed in major venues such as Carnegie Hall, Avery Fisher Hall, Alice Tully Hall, and Orchestra Hall of Minneapolis. She has played with The Juilliard Orchestra, New Juilliard Ensemble, New World Symphony, and Orchestra Iowa. During her summers, Ms. Siochi attended the Aspen Music Festival in 2012 and 2013, the Tanglewood Music Center in 2014, and recently received the two-year harp fellowship for Aspen Music Festival’s 2015 and 2016 seasons. In May 2015, she joined Ensemble ACJW to perform Ravel’s Introduction and Allegro in Zankel Hall at Carnegie Hall. 

In addition to the harp, Ms. Siochi studied secondary piano at The Juilliard School under Dr. Michael Shinn during her four years as an undergraduate. Katherine grew up in Iowa City, Iowa, where she studied with Pamela Weest-Carrasco at The Preucil School of Music.


The Concert Artist for 2013-2015 was Alexandra Katelyn Mullins

Alexandra Katelyn Mullins, 19, a Sophomore at Indiana University and student of Distinguished Professor Susann McDonald, has performed throughout the US and Europe in many venues, including Carnegie Hall and the Kennedy Center. She has received awards, including First Place in the Advanced and Young Professional Divisions of the American Harp Society, First Place in the Lyon and Healy Awards, First Place in the 18th Petar Konjovic Serbian International Harp Competition, First Place in the Jacobs School of Music Concerto Competition, Prizewinner of the 2013 USA International Harp Competition, as well as numerous regional awards. Performances have included appearances with the Charlotte Symphony and the IU Orchestra, and she will have her European orchestral debut in Belgrade in 2014. Participation in AHS competitions since 2005 has contributed greatly to her success as a musician, and she is thrilled to serve and perform in the capacity of Concert Artist for the next two years. Former and current teachers and coaches include Dr. Carrol McLaughlin, Dan Yu, Sivan Magen, Dr. Maria Luisa Rayan-Forrero, Bette Roth, Christine VanArsdale and Jaqueline Bartlett.

Click here to see some of Alexandra Kathelyn Mullins' sample concert programs

Past Winners*

Alexandra Katelyn Mullins 2013-2015
Elizabeth White Clark 2011-2013
Heidi Van Hoesen Gorton 2009-2011
Sadie Turner 2007-2009
Adrianna Horne 2005-2007
Kristie Withers 2003-2005
Annabelle Taubl 2001-2003
Joanna Jordan 1998-2000
Kirsten Agresta 1997-1998


*Partial Listing